- Invite Member
- Sample Workflow
Select Members & Roles (formerly called Permissions) from the drop-down in the upper right-hand corner.
Members & Roles allow account owners to provide additional users the ability to manage various aspects of their account and specified devices.
From the Members tab, you'll see a list of current members including their name, assigned role, and email address. You'll be able to edit the member's Current Device Permissions and add device permissions by clicking the pencil icon or delete the member by selecting the trash icon. Below this list are the Pending Invitations. All invitations will be included as pending until they are accepted by the member and an account is created.
Select "Invite Member" to add a new account member's email, assign them a role, and choose which devices to allow permission.
After selecting Invite Member you'll land on the Using Shared Account and Using Shared Device page.
The Share Account option should be used if you want to provide additional administrators or owners access to your account.
The Shared Device option should be used if you want to provide additional administrators or owners access to your account.
Using Shared Device will allow you share a device with someone, the user will have the ability to manage the device from within their own account. If you invite a user that does not have an account, they will create one when the invitation email is received.
This option is typically used in Property Manager/Tenant situations, where the device owner does not necessarily want the person they are sharing the device with to have access to other areas in their account, nor have the ability to see all user codes on a lock.
If a user is given access to devices for a Location, for example, any device added to that location will be accessible to that user automatically.
Additional information is available in our Using Shared Device article.
Selecting Share Account will land you on a page where you'll need to add a valid email address, select the appropriate Role assignment from the drop-down, and select either the entire account or a specific location under "Add Device Permissions".
The only Role available to choose from initially will be Owner. You can customize any other role you would like to create and name it accordingly. Other roles we have created include Device Manager, Location Manager, and Manage Access Guest.
Selecting Share Device will land you on a page where you'll need to add a valid email address and Add Device Permissions for either the entire account or a specific location.
Selecting the Roles tab will land you on a page where you can see a list of current names and their associated permissions. From here you can edit these roles, add additional roles, or change the role's name. A role is essentially a set of permissions.
Clicking Add Role will give you the opportunity to add and name a new role and customize the permissions for this role.
The list of permissions includes Manage Access Users, Manage Access Guests, Manage ACS, Manage Devices, Manage Locations, Manage ResortLocks, and Manage Schedules.
The word manage means: create, update and delete.
Additional information is available in our Using Shared Account article.
Note: If you do not give permission to Manage Access Users or Manage Access Guests, Account Members can still VIEW (not create, update or delete) Access Users or Access Guests for all doors and locks that they are given permissions for within Device Permissions. If you do not want them to see these Access Users, do not give them permissions to manage those locks.
Some features require a high level of responsibility so there are not permissions for those, instead we give access to the feature if the user has owner role on the account. The current features that are only manageable by owners are:
- Manage account information
- Manage billing
- Manage roles and device permissions
- Custom roles: Users can create an unlimited number of roles, specifying the name and the set of permissions that represent that role. These custom roles will not have access to permissions above only accessible to owners but can include all or a subset of the permissions listed below.
Since an account can have multiple owners, only the primary owner (the person who created the account):
- Is responsible for billing
- Can delete the account
When Adding or Editing a Role, the permissions that can be granted to other users include the following:
- Manage Access Users
- Manage Access Guests
- Manage ACS Configuration - Only applicable for accounts that support ACS features
- Manage Devices - specifically, manage the settings of a device (Heartbeat Interval, Auto-lock mode, etc.
- Manage Locations
- Manage Schedules and Holiday Calendars
- Rob signs up for an account
- An account is created
- He gets an owner role in this account
- He is also the primary owner of this account since he created it
- Rob creates the role HR Manager with permission Manage Access Users
- Rob invites Denise to have the HR Manager role
- Denise receives an invitation email and signs up
- Step #1 takes place for Denise's own account
- Denise gets assigned to role HR Manager in Rob's account
- Rob gives the "Device Permission" at the "Denver Office" location level to Denise.
- Now Denise can create access users to the new employees and give them access to locks of Denver Office
- Rob invites Nolan to also become an owner of his account
- Nolan receives an invitation email and signs up
- Step #1 takes place for Nolan's own account
- Nolan gets assigned to role owner in Rob's account
- Nolan gets access to all account devices