Devices: Access

Access Users are considered more permanent in nature compared to Access Guests. Instead of having a start and end time associated (like access guests), users will have ongoing access to any door or door group you allow.

From the Devices Tab, select the Device you would like to view.

mceclip1.png

 

From the Locks Detail View, click on the Access tab to view existing Access Users and Guests. They are  differentiated by an icon with a clock (guests) or an icon without a clock (users).

mceclip2.png

Please Note: More than 1000 Users (either Access or Guest) can be created on the 5i, 6i & 7i lock models.

TYPE:

Filter between Guests and Users by selecting the TYPE: All, Users, or Guests

EDITING USERS AND GUESTS:

For Users- Clicking on the pencil icon in line with their name will allow you to edit their name, email, department and credentials (pin).

For Guests- Clicking on the pencil icon in line with their name will allow you to "Override Access Times" for this door. By checking this box, you can adjust the start or end time this guest has on this door. You can also add in an Access Schedule here.

Click the trashcan to revoke access to the lock and remove the guest or user from the lock.

To view all locks a particular guest/user has access to, click on the their name to go the Access User/Guest detail page. Here, you can also grant them additional access to other locks, or revoke access where needed. On this page, you can also edit other information such as the guest/user name, email, and credentials (pin).

Add Access User or Guest

mceclip3.png

Add Access User

Click on Add User towards the top right to create a User: 

mceclip4.png

User Information

Fill in the Access User's Name, email (optional), Department (optional), and PIN number (4 - 10 digits). If you have an ACS or a card reader, there will be an additional field for Card Number.

Please Note: Pin numbers must be unique across the entire account. If you enter a pin that is already in use, you will be given the option to add access for the current lock to the existing user that this pin is assigned to.

Door Access

When creating users from within the lock you want to provide access to, the Door Access selection is grayed out (not selectable). This is because it has been pre-populated with the lock you started from.

Access Schedule

You can choose to limit the Door Access for the user by applying an Access Schedule. For example, you may only want this user to have access from Monday through Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM. Schedules must be previously created, and then can be selected in the Access schedule drop-down. Go to the Access Schedules article for additional help.

Notifications

A notification can be created for this access user within the Notifications section. First, select the type of notification you want (None, on First access only, or on Every access). Then select the options for the type of notification you would like to receive (text or email).

Contacts for notifications must be set up prior to creating a notification. Go to the Notifications article for additional help.

Click Submit to send this access information to the lock.

*Please Note: Access Users can also be created and edited from the main Access Users category found in the left navigation. Any access user created from within the door lock management page will also be listed in the main Access User list view.

After creating or updating an access user/guest, the system tracks the communication of that code to ensures it makes it successfully to the door lock. Upon creation of a new user/guest, the code confirmation goes to a pending status.

Once the lock connects to the cloud, the system expects it to confirm the user/guest. When the confirmation is received by the system, a green check mark is displayed for that user/guest. If the device does not confirm, the system makes another attempt, and waits for the next connection with the device - the system makes up to 3 attempts.

If you notice that there is a gray clock icon next to your user/guests name, this means the lock is still syncing, the code is still pending, and the lock may need to be woken up or given more time to load.

mceclip6.pngIf you have a cloud icon displaying with a red X, this means the code was not successfully uploaded to the lock. To remedy this, you can delete the door access for that user (don't delete the entire user, just delete their access for that door) and then recreate the door access for that user.

mceclip7.png

 

Please contact our support team if you continue to have issues with syncing codes or receiving errors.

Some devices have restrictions that can cause a non-retriable error. For instance, the model LS-L500i supports only 10 access users/guests (as opposed to 1000+ on the 5i, 6i, and 7i) - in that case, the system will not retry creating the access user/guest.

Back to Top ^

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.